Poets logo

Blood - A Vampire's Love

How sweet it is, but love is stronger

By G. A. BoteroPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Blood - A Vampire's Love
Photo by Nadin Mario on Unsplash

warm, sweet, metallic red

*

i desire

the paleness of your skin

*

pulse of your heart

i want to resist

your beauty just makes it too hard

*

i do, i want to resist

i can taste your fragrance from across the square

your laughter engulfs me

but not only me

*

your summer dress

attracts the crowds as you dance

as you smile and sweat

your fragrance grows stronger

my control wanes

*

yet i resist

as the night dims

and the crowds fade

my mind races to the thought

bloodless for days

none that I enjoyed anyway

*

you end your night

violin packed away

you cross the square

heading my way

i must decide

*

raising my hand

reaching out to you

a dance I say

last on — would you?

*

A waltz it is

your sweeter than I dreamt

I caress your face

*

you look at me

with full permission

*

I pause, and fly away

___________

End notes:

Even bloodsuckers fall in love beyond the flesh.

Happy Valentine's Day

love poems
4

About the Creator

G. A. Botero

I have a million bad ideas, until a good one surfaces. Poetry, short stories, essays.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Oooo, this was both dark and romantic! I loved it!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    The greatest gift you can give your sweetheart on Valentines Day is not to suck on her sweet heart 😁

  • Mason Darnielle3 months ago

    Vamps!! Spooky & romantic feel, dig it :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.