Poets logo

Blinded by Bittersweet Symphony: Shattered Poetry

Assumptions (Poem)

By Lizzie MartinezPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Find this book on Amazon

ASSUMPTIONS

You assumed the distance would keep my memory in slumber but all it did was intensify the need the want the hunger

The distance we've shared has you yearning and aching for me while you were hoping all of me would disappear

The loneliness the longing sometimes seems to much to bare yet all this time I've stood still

You can't even answer your phone when you see me call your fingers wanting to tap the button but instead you end the call my voice intoxicating and that's what you try to push away it's as if you are hiding from me and don't want me near I don't know what I've done to you to make you feel this way

But it's not "life" as you call it making you be this way it's your own self, doing these things that you said you would never dare do

My voice my heart my soul bleeds for you and wants you to know you're loved but you seemed scared of me and the cause of it has started to make you come undone

Distracted as you try to be you wish I was there to be close the more you push me away the more you seem to want me there the more you avoid me seems to bring you more loneliness more sadness more despair I've stood still all this time I've been right here

I don't think you can comprehend the love I feel for you I don't think you can fathom the thought with clarity and brevity that inner part of you feels so isolated and the steps you take you fall and you just go through the motions of the day and pretend to stand so tall you try to numb yourself as best as you know how but I know you well enough to know that you want so much more

You ache for me in silence while pain ravages your mind you want to be so close to me and yet you just settle for what's there in time

I know your heart is heavy and you don't know what to do but the pain in my heart is heavy just as much as it is for you

I've waited for years to have you and I thought you were all mine but "life" has nothing to do with it it's your words and actions that are out of rhyme life is not an excuse to feel the way you do "if time were different" isn't an excuse it's you who is stopping you

The things I want to share with you and the love I have to give the emotions I have for you if only you'd truly want to LIVE the places in my fantasies that I want you to see I would only offer if you'd only see what is right in front of you

We are each only getting older and time has taken its toll I want to have a piece of you something I can always hold a piece of you to teach, to love to hold and cradle to a piece of you to raise and nurture to hold onto that little hand to harness all the happiness that I could have given you if you were mine but you can't even do that... you won't even offer a piece of you

I deserve more than bitter sweet silence

Your voice, it soothes me it makes me feel at peace it makes me feel I'm worth it but when you destroy you you destroy me

We are only getting older and time is taking its toll for how long must I wait for you how long do I wait for love

Stop being afraid of something that has always stood here something that's been in front of you after all this time after all these years

Wake up and see I DO love you without stipulations or rules I DO want you more than you realize

Stop using "Life" as an excuse

Life is just a foolish thought from lips that can't think of anything else for I could say life did this and that and life won't let me live but life doesn't control me... stop saying to yourself "if only time and space were different" for time has passed and memories refuse to fade the only thing is the space in between us right now which will soon pass and move us closer time has passed

Are you going to let more go by?

I DO I ALWAYS HAVE I ALWAYS WILL

For I've stood still all this time and I've been standing right here

Are you yet again just going to walk on by?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Lizzie Martinez

Little person, actor, published author of several books & other works, poet, Script Writer, Expert Paranormal Investigator/ Consultant/Instructor & Founder of my own paranormal business & Sensitive Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.