Poets logo

Blind, Stressed and Late

Morning struggles, make them double. The unspoken and quirky challenges of ADHD.

By IrelandPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

How are you, I ask,

Supposed to find,

Anything when your eyesight

Is as bad as mine?

I can search high and low,

Be it as it may,

But searching half-blind

Still takes a half-day!

“Did you search on the desk?

On the bed? On the floor?

Surely you’ll find them,

Surely I’m shore!”

But how can I find,

The glasses on my bed,

If the glasses I need,

Are not on my head?!

I pace my room carefully,

Can't move.

Can't sit.

Can't see.

I look in the mirror.

A blurred face peers back at me.

But wait! What is that?

Up there on my hat?

There is bread on my head,

Would you believe that?!

I run to the kitchen,

Eating crust on the way.

I am terribly late,

But a snack sounds okay.

Just as I thought,

The glasses were found!

Right on top of the toaster,

Not the bed, shelf OR ground!

So there they were,

Hanging on for dear life.

Half propped, and half popped.

Sigh.

Unplug.

Grab the knife.

If you’re laughing now,

You’re about to laugh harderer,

‘‘Twas the second time this week!

Glasses wearers are not smarterer...

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.