Poets logo

Blind Rage

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Jean-Leon Gerome, "Polyphemus"

Tending my flock was I, some years ago

When a ship appeared, with strange men aboard

One man led the lot, and I wished to know

His name; a request I thought above board

“Nobody,” was his enigmatic name

I ought to have known then he was a knave;

I thought his subterfuge was rather lame

And led he and his men into my cave

I ate a few and then succumbed to wine

When I awoke, the scoundrels blinded me!

They slipped the cave beneath my sheep, fine

Their egress I could feel but never see

They floated off, and as they did, he cried:

“Odysseus am I; in truth, I lied!”

Ekphrastic

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Esala Gunathilake3 months ago

    This is an art of clever.

  • Oooo, this was so clever! Brilliant work!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I used to have dreams about the Cyclops when I was a kid. It lived in our hayshed in my dreams. I blame Ray Harryhausen.

  • 👍♥️

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.