Poets logo

Bleeding Heart

#poetry

By Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr BurnsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
3
Bleeding Heart
Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

Bleeding Heart

My bleeding heart was the platform from which you preached your hypocrisy

And launched your endless tirades of bullshit,

Heralded from a tyrannical reign over my life,

A crown you had no entitlement to.

If you were a King,

You would be Henry the eighth

And you would cast me as Anne Boelyn.

Once the oh so sought after Queen of your madness,

Set upon an unholy pedestal to save you from the endless boredom and dissatisfaction of your former life.

Yet when it came to pass I could not save you from your abyss,

So enshrined in unhappiness and consumed by emptiness,

My self proclaimed King found his excuse to cut my bleeding heart from my chest,

As Henry had Anne’s head from her body.

You mocked me for my bleeding heart,

You tore,

Shred and cut it away like a child would coloured paper.

Now I’m left to wonder,

How will you fare old King,

Now that the bleeding has stopped?

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr Burns

"I was always an unusual girl

My mother told me that I had a chameleon soul

No moral compass pointing due north

No fixed personality...

...With a fire for every experience and an obsession for freedom"

-Lana Del Ray

Ride

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.