Poets logo

Blanket Forts

In the Cardiac Ward

By Amethyst Jill KahlerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I wish I didn't have to be here...

The drive was too long and the road was wet from the rain...

We were in the middle of dinner and you interrupted an already rollercoaster-esque evening.

I hate this room, in this building, the walls are cold and envious and the light, harsh, and devious.

I wish I didn't have to be here...

There are far too many people making far too much noise and the tv thinks it knows exactly what I need in life...

It has all the answers you know... the tv... or so I muse.

This chair is like a nightmare for my already stressed shoulders and back... it is taunting my muscles and making fun of my posture... my feelings are hurt.

I wish I didn't have to be here...

I wish I didn't have to be here... holding your hand, colder than usual, tangled in vines...

I wish I didn't have to be here... listening to the machines as they talk to the nurses and pretend that I can't hear the conversations. I understand their banter... his heart is broken... it is tired and worn from a long life of hard work and rough shop hands... and the smell of old diesel engines and green paint.

I wish I didn't have to be here...

with so many faces, so forlorn, so familiar, yet unrecognizably foreign, twisted by pain...

I wish I didn't have to be here...

because you shouldn't be here... you are invincible... my hero... you are magic and Magic doesn't get hurt... Magic doesn't have a broken heart... an off beat to a decrescendo that may not last the night. Magic doesn't die.

I wish I didn't have to be here...

holding my cousins and worrying about my kids... my own grief put on hold to be strong... how do I tell them that you're too weak to see them... what if... what if I have to tell them that you're gone? what if someone has to tell ME that you're gone?

I wish I didn't have to be here...

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Jill Kahler

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.