Poets logo

Blank Friday

The True Meaning of Christmas Shopping

By Kendall Defoe Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
36
Blank Friday
Photo by Tamanna Rumee on Unsplash

Staff gets scared...

I dared

to visit when I could

to get it

(a new laptop).

Just like I said I would...

*

Store is surrounded...

I'm astounded

that we are all here

with little credit

(maybe money in hand).

I sense some fear...

*

Anger is compounded...

I feel grounded;

a moment of zen

with fists and spit

(feels like war).

The season begins again.

*

Everything is accounted

with totals well-rounded,

and I can get away

with one quick hit

(my gift now),

awaiting Saturday.

Dante never had it so good...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentaryhumorfact or fiction
36

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • This comment has been deleted

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    I do most of my shopping online anymore...people are too ruthless out there, lol. I could feel my anxiety shoot through the roof reading the picture you painted. Congrats on Top story!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Well done Kendall. I’m not much for shopping at anytime anymore. 😁😆 Congrats on your top story! 😊👍

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    So clever! Well done!!

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Well written! I try to avoid all of the stores from Thanksgiving through Christmas. Unfortunately, it never completely works out.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Great piece Kendal, very relatable and so cleverly put!! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    I never done Black Friday shop, and that's why. Nicely done and congrats on the TS

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Accuracy in poetry. I hate this time of year for all that nonsense. So glad for the evolution of online shopping!

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    So accurate 🤣🤣

  • KJ Aartila6 months ago

    Exactly! I never have attended a Black Friday sale. Too scary-crazy!

  • J smith kirkland6 months ago

    Excellent

  • Cathy Deslippe6 months ago

    It is beautifully written and describes how many of us feel shopping on that particular day.

  • I have no idea what Black Friday is or why they have the sales. I've never bought anything during this time. It's just too many people. Lol

  • And now that that's past..., ...onto Cyber Monday!

  • Leslie Writes6 months ago

    I hope millennials kill this tradition too 🤣

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    💙💚

  • Davina Zinn McKee6 months ago

    The best deals are online… and it has been that way for years. They’re not even just on Friday, it’s a long weekend of ordering things at your convenience and even getting free shipping in most cases. I wonder if the people still rushing out to buy are just lonely and wanting to be in a crowd.

  • Healty Life6 months ago

    nice work

  • Great job… I loathe shopping… except for books, of course. Just the thought of Super sales terrifies me!

  • Good one Kendall... I have now ignored Black Friday for more than 20 years. The deals aren't really deals... they raise the prices than lower them and call it a deal. However, back in the day - when I was much younger it was fun getting up super early battling the crowds, waiting in a long line, drinking coffee or hot chocolate while waiting. Finally getting in and rushing toward whatever it is you are looking for. You had to be fast because things would run out. I am one of those people that is not intimidated by crowds... I actually kinda thrive on crowds... but these days Black Friday ain't worth battling the crowd... However if there were ever to be a Pink Floyd reunion (RIP Richard Wright) I would gladly be in that crowd!!!

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    I never participated and never will.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.