Poets logo

Black Velvet Berry

Where do I begin?

By Valentine VampirePublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like

We called it Black Velvet Berry.

When the first sprout bloomed in spring; The flowers wet from the morning dew. The berries looked just like jewels, and our love was so new.

A sweet taste of sin.

Poison and Passion.

Pleasure and Pain.

Past lives and Pulsating eyes.

We consumed until the vine ran dry, and all that was left was the bitter taste in my mouth of our extinguished love.

Black Velvet Berry.

Where do I begin?

A sky of pearls. Silk and pale just like my skin.

A sea of roses. White, red, and baby pink

We each picked a rose based on what mood of love we were in.

Rich cream, innocence was never lost, overflowing from the fountain of our youth.

Garnet red, For the love that runs in our blood. Passion or fire. I don't know which. We burned past the two. Dieback already taking its home, but how could we have known?

Baby pink babe, So silly, so young, so dumb, pink was the rose that we picked when we felt like staying in the kingdom of youth.

Empyreal is the taste of Black Velvet Berry.

Blessed by the gift that is flora.

Cursed with an everlasting sting of fauna.

I can still taste Black Velvet Berry in my mouth.

Black Stained in my teeth from your kiss.

Velvet figure eights traced over my skin from your fingertips.

Berry is the color of our breath as it meets as one.

Winters frost.

The hardest you’ve ever seen it snow. Tumbledown on me like an avalanche and bury me with Black Velvet Berry! Trade my thorns for icicles and prick me again. Black Velvet Berry ur taste is sweet. Black Velvet Berry, I taste it in my sleep.

I've got my red lace

I've got it in blue, and other colors too

Except I only put it on when I'm taking it off. For you

I don't have my pride. I lost my dignity back in June

When you took your hand into the petals of someone else's tune

until you hear the strings of my violin.

then back to me, you come singing

You only love me when you're in our vineyard

Fanning or deadheading

Whatever it takes to get back in your bed

I fear this could be the end

I've got the greatest sense of dread when you say the words

“Youth was the kingdom, Dawn was the truth”

Black Velvet Berry, I can't find you.

Could you help me slow the search?

Pick up some shovels, and dig in the dirt.

We can go back to our roots. Back to the roses and the berries

Back when our souls were as free as the fairies!

When we would waltz in the wild air!

My love, where did you go?

In what garden did you plant that strawberry soul?

It doesn't cost a thing. Wouldn't you know?

the pasture on the west coast?

Perhaps the orchard over the ocean be true?

Not to black velvet berry, no.

In reality, I'm the one who paid that day you left in May.

With glossy eyes of blueberry ice

Tailored feather shirted with the heart on the collar

Now, I’m slipping off my Raspberry Red lace

It's the big race waiting for you

To come into my room

Where I'm planning something special for just us two.

You should see our homeland.

A monsoon washes in my meadow around noon.

Clear skies are what we lack.

But your heart would rather die than come back.

This can't be the end of Black Velvet Berry.

Check the patch!

Under the wicker bench!

Look for any of the last Black Velvet Berries under the white picket fence!

Can you not find one more?

I can't let what we had to die, so forever you shall be mine.

Don't scream, Don't roar. You won’t get out the back door.

You cried. You yelled. You tripped on the rake. Impaled your leg. It didn't even break

Your hands shook and shaked as I put my broken heart plate between the two holes that made up your pretty face.

Look at me dearly for your final surprise!

Look at me before the blood fills your wandering eyes!

Look at me as I consume what is mine!

Look at my smile as your blood drips from my lips!

Darling you got Black Velvet Berries all over me

But I won’t pay any mind.

Wash me in your divine wine!

Black were my eyes as they look down at you.

Velvet was the tears in which I cried for you.

Berry as your blood on my hands that is you.

Seeds under my nails

unbearable to not have a little taste of you.

like fresh cherries, bitter and sweet.

but your blood is already on my tongue and i'm dying to feast on you.

Now I'm taking off my red lace. Put my red hair down too

To lie down in the dirt.

Forever entombed with you.

You and I were meant to die by design

To be with Black Velvet Berry for eternity

Our fractured fairy tale.

Mad love, sewn under the soil, under this meadow until we have Black Velvet Berry forevermore.

I’ll wait for a million moons

Through the great frost of every winter

Until we meet again in the spring for harvest.

For Black Velvet Berry.

For You My Love.

nature poetrysurreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Valentine Vampire

A collection of poetry and short stories :3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.