Poets logo

Black Spring

Although Halloween isn't prominent in Australia, nor were Witch trials, I always liked to think that somewhere out in the thickness of the Australian bush, there was a private trial that took place on All Hallows Eve. This holiday in Australia falls in spring rather than autumn/fall.

By Rose DovePublished 6 months ago β€’ 1 min read
7
poetry video coming soon!

Swinging in my nightgown

From the old Gum tree

Where the dew of the crimson bottlebrush

Is ever carefree

He pushes me back and forth

Once, twice, a thousand times

Where the banksia and wild thyme

Always thrive.

Coupled on our blanket

Amongst the tall grass green

Once our little picnic

Now relished by ants and soft decay

A peaceful vignette.

Sunning by the Billabong

Dozing to the lullabies

Of the crickets and the flies

Sewing you up in my daisy chains

Your voodoo heart belongs to me

Abandoned all past devotions

For now, you bow to me.

But...

Our love was doomed to bloom

You refuted your damnation

No longer under my spell

"WITCH!"

And a rope was swiftly

hitched

And when I closed my eyes and collapsed

The world's light Went out with me

And so I swing in my nightgown

From the old gum tree

Where the kookaburra laughs

As he sits with glee

Our blanket floating in the Billabong

The tall reeds bend back with the wind

All Hallows Eve is in the air

But in the springtime

It's hella rare.

sad poetryHolidayvintageCONTENT WARNINGperformance poetrysurreal poetry
7

About the Creator

Rose Dove

𝐿𝒾𝒻𝑒 πΌπ“‚π’Ύπ“‰π’Άπ“‰π‘’π“ˆ π’œπ“‡π“‰; a curation of personal pieces and poems that carry glimpses into my past and present.

πŸ–€πŸͺ¬

IG: @thehausofdove

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.