Poets logo

Black Sheep

or, "Why don't you visit more often?"

By Jesse LawPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Black Sheep
Photo by Matthias Wagner on Unsplash

Don’t mean to be a let down,

Just seems to be how I get around.

All these promises don’t follow through.

That’s just how it is, ‘cause I’m like you.

But still, I’ll always be your black sheep.

Don’t mean to be a downer,

Just seem to be a frowner.

We’re both just so full of it,

So full of empty promises.

Why don’t you ask me how I did in school?

I got a good grade, didn’t break any rules.

But still, I’ll always be your black sheep.

Don’t mean to be a failure,

It’s just my role to fail ya.

“Son, get off that microphone."

Put down the guitar and just go home.

Go and find yourself some real work.

Get a degree, don’t know what for.”

Go on and ask, “have you got any wool?”

Go on and ask, “why you look like a fool?”

“Hey, hey black sheep, this wool’s not enough!”

Yeah, yeah I know, ‘cause you sheared it all off.

“I really think you should stay in school.

Ba ba black sheep, have you got any wool?”

But still, I’ll always be your black sheep.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jesse Law

A musician, a poet, a friend, and over-thinker based in Columbus, OH.

Find me on Spotify or other music services.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.