Poets logo

Black Magic

Trauma

By Chantae HardingPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
3
Black Magic
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

I sit as venom assaults my ears.

All I can do is reign back the tears.

I have lived with Black Magic for 31 years.

My mouth is dry,

I can’t help but wonder why.

I taste acidity, bile rising in my throat.

My mind is so boggled by history rewrote.

I see eyes rolling.

It’s almost as draining as dead scrolling.

My health is no more than a joke.

It makes me wish that I would choke.

I can smell the salt sea air.

The booze seems to make a good pair.

I have always been on trial.

The world looks at me with denial.

The emotional pain is too much.

But really am I asking too much?

Scratches down my arm to manifest the pain.

I need the pain to be physical and plain.

In reality it’s hard to explain.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Chantae Harding

Time to be honest and cut the crap. I love to write! I always have. I lost that for a while. I am here to grow, learn, and experience my own writing process. If you don't like my writing that's ok. I'm still learning.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Chantae, this was a really emotional and raw poem. I appreciate your rhyme scheme and the flow of the overall poem! Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.