Poets logo

Black Lives Matter

Jak

By WORDSBEYONDMEASUREPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Who would have thought being darker then my peers could be the cost of my demise. Who would of thought being black could be the cost of my downfall. I wanna rise above it all but the world just wants to see me fall. What do I have to do for the world to see me as their equal. They way the world seems to hate us, it was only a matter of time before we’d hate ourselves to. I look at myself in the mirror and I see a man with something to prove. Its sad we feel that we can’t excel in life of the skin we were born into. A prejudice thats been decided long before I was even born. Is it the nappy hair, is it the charismatic smile, is it the way we hold our own even though our worlds spinning. The world will look me in my eyes, see the confidence, see the intelligence and try to destroy it.The world rather murder my soul than cherish it. It just goes to show how valuable we all truly are. You don’t try and destroy something that isn’t a threat to you. Black is beautiful, it’s nothing short of gorgeous. From the beautiful skin to the mind of a warrior. Sometimes you have to let them win some battles to win the war. Your perception of me shouldn’t be determined by how dark I am compared to you because the truth is that very same “black man” would run through a wall for you. How is it fair for you to judge me just because I don’t look like you. If you looked at me for what I am on the inside I promise I just might surprise you. Look me deep in my eyes, I promise I’m capable of love to.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

WORDSBEYONDMEASURE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.