Poets logo

Black Hearts Aren't So Bad

The darker shades of colour

By emPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
Black Hearts Aren't So Bad
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

Red hearts we are born with,

Until life stains our skin.

Dunked deep into madness,

And the colours seep in.

Some come out glittering,

Rose-tinted, pure gold.

Other’s return bluer,

Ocean deep, slightly cold.

But those aren’t the colours,

Tattooed on my soul.

I’m not drawn to these wavelengths,

Like I am to charcoal.

There are those in the shadows,

Dark hearts, out of sight.

Untouched by the spectrum,

Dispersed by the light.

Yet into the blackness,

I would happily fall.

Black hearts, it would seem,

Aren’t so bad after all.

love poems
5

About the Creator

em

I’m a writer, a storyteller, a lunatic. I imagine in a parallel universe I might be a caricaturist or a botanist or somewhere asleep on the moon — but here, I am a writer, turning moments into multiverses and making homes out of them.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    Cool piece! I like how it ryhmes. The use of color throughout the poem is super interesting.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.