Poets logo

Black Coat of Paint

Stranded Without Gods

By Patrick SantiagoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

I am buried deep within the swells of this home

The windows black out the sound

I nurture bundles of regret in my arms, a well nourished baby...

It yells, while the roses blossom without pedals

If I don't let the light in, mirrors can't reflect...

...denial is like a pair of eyes, eyelids close but the pupils stay open...

I am buried deep within the swells of this home

Don't let the right one in and I can befriend the tapestries painted in my misery...

No voice but my own to inspire the madness that swallows me whole...

Here I occupy space, a resurgence of apathy; a diluted attempt for stability where foundations are weak...

I think I got colder, dead versions of me litter the room

Cannibal misfortunes, mental paralysis, the victims are me - the killer...

...I feel his face when I reach up for mine...

The windows black out sound, but inside...it's loud, with mirrors that can't see, and a killer who needs no introduction...

He will not let me reach for the doorknob, a repression of movement

An admission of fault...

...I gave him the keys to my home, and now my home is a baseless shackle...

No chain, no rope, paralysis, merely bounded by fear...

And here he and I will stay, watching the second coat of black paint dry over the windows once again...

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Patrick Santiago

Writing because I'm too poor to make movies. Working to change that!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kim Thayer2 years ago

    You've got some powerful stuff going on here. I know I really like a poem if I find myself echoing a line aloud as I'm reading. I found myself doing this 3-4 times with yours. Your use of imagery is hauntingly fantastic. Keep writing. I look forward to reading more of your creations.

Patrick SantiagoWritten by Patrick Santiago

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.