Poets logo

Black Canyon

Wanderings

By SchmalzPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
1

I'm going into black canyon

Don't care if I live or die

Steep dark walls like canyons in my mind

And the rock is scree and the waters running high

One little slip and death I will find

Though temptation is something divine

So I go around each bend and switchback again

Following some ghost down a trail there's never been

Maybe deep in this canyon I will find

Purple skies in my dreaming mind

And I know for certain I will die

Drinking Johnny Walker and having myself a time

Maybe the clear blue water can clear my aching mind

Shadowed walls sinking beyond the grasp of time

Black canyon wont you take this life of mine

So when the sun rises on the other side

My bones will be waiting for you to find

And my soul is rising by the great divide

There I'll be waiting just for you to find

I'm going to black canyon

And don't plan to make it out alive

art
1

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    OMG, this is so dark. I hope it is all happening far away from Black Canyon, I see why you are a Marty Robbins fan now, the West is in your blood. This is great, assuming everything is ok with you. 🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤩

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.