Poets logo

Black And White

Burns Hot And Cold

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
7
Black And White
Photo by Jusdevoyage on Unsplash

Ice cold decisions

In the heat of the moment

Hotter than fire

Your cold, steely glance

You turned up the heat

When you gave the cold shoulder

Oh, what a meal -

You made out of me

Fire and ice

Your deepest emotions

Sugar and spice

Your initial MO

I’ve developed a cure

For the sickness you offer

To squash your allure

And eliminate control

It’s black and white

Stay away from the shadows

The grays are unkind

Wading beyond the shallows

The current is swift

And the tide, unrelenting

Judgments are missed

Consequence, unforgiving

Just don’t play with fire

With the illusions, of not hurting

When building a pyre

There’s a high risk of burning

I’ve made you a label

To serve as a warning

contents are unstable

You’ll thank me in the morning

slam poetry
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Whoaaaa, this blew my mind! This was so creative and brilliant!

  • So you finally got me figured out, label & all, lol. Evocative poem, juxtaposing opposites to emphasize the extremes of hurt caused. Well done, Kelli.

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Oh how I wish people would come with labels...it would save so much time. Nicely done!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    🖤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.