Poets logo

Bittersweet Release

(For Cole)

By Heather HagyPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
4

"It’s time"

...............

I don’t want to

hear it

Let me hold

your paws once more

one tear, then two

they fall and fall

...............

The best big boy

from day one

I long to rub your

dark, inky coat

gaze into your eyes

see your old soul

(Oh, the hurt)

...............

"It’s time"

...............

I don’t want to

feel this

Let me go

you seem to say

with a worn look

and a long sigh

...............

No, let’s go back

to days gone by

Romp in the yard

get that red ball

rest in the cool ivy

bark, pant, grin

(Oh, this pain)

...............

"It’s time"

...............

I don’t want to

do this

Let me have

one last wet kiss

tell the doc to

wait, just wait

...............

The room is warm

all has gone hush

You shut your eyes

no howl, no fuss

one tear, then two

ok, make the call

(Oh, my boy)

...............

"It’s time"

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Heather Hagy

Stephen King fan (but not like Annie "I'm your #1 fan" Wilkes cuz I'm sane and she's not)

Horror/supernatural are my favorite writing genres

Wife to 1 and mom to 4 humans, 4 dogs, 6 cats, and a dragon

"Jaws" is the greatest movie ever

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit13 days ago

    Great job congratulations

  • I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 Beautiful poem!

  • Heartbreaking, yet beautiful. Excellent job Heather!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Oh, my heart! This is so sad but such a wonderful and heartfelt entry 🥹❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.