Poets logo

Bittersweet candy hearts

stale sweet never made anyone smile.

By W. J. Bradford IIIPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Ig: thesadder_chapter

Every little

I love you

And be mine was followed by the hard crunch and crackle of my bones as she only offers semi-sweet sugar in her heart.

Biting down on the reality of this fragile heart shaped memo

on the tip of my tongue,

wondering how much sweeter life would be if I just spit these words right out of my mouth and save myself from swallowing a mouthful of tensions energy.

Because that little sweet gesture taste stale and I can’t stand to hear the rattle of words as you shake a paper box of genetic affirmations.

Shaking one free and offering it as a last minute treat.

I’d rather eat silence.

I’d rather taste peace of mind.

I’d rather not dine on expired vibes

and sour moods.

Let’s not be brittle about the fragility of our attraction,

instead let’s savor the sweet sides of life before they dissolve.

Let’s not let it all melt away because we’re holding onto something that has long past it’s freshness. Let’s let go of those melted moments and fill new molds with sweet memories.

sad poetry

About the Creator

W. J. Bradford III

my name is William Bradford III

I write poetry and create content surround each subject.

Ig:thesadder_chapter

Fb:thesadderchapter

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    W. J. Bradford IIIWritten by W. J. Bradford III

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.