Poets logo

Bits & Pieces

Meraki...

By Gulraj BediPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

As I lay in bed, with your arms wrapped around me

I couldn’t think of anything apart from thee

When the heavens opened, the earth, in its entirety,

succumbed to the soft-falling shower.

As we lay beside each other, my heart skipped a beat

I guess it symbolized latent power

Overflowing streams of thought overpower me

As I think of you, with a thousand inked pages

Lying in front of me

At yet, not a single word has the power to describe you,

because you’re a spirit, completely untamed and free

Today, when I hold my pen between my fingers

I tend to realize that you’re quite a humdinger

You made me write what was untold

It lied there, in the coffers,

So cruel and cold

Whenever, in the shackles of ignominy, I am caught

Pieces of you overthrow the clutter

It is here that memories begin to return

And curtains of darkness, thick and suffocating

Begin to burn

Again, as I lay in my bed,

with a thousand fragments of unspoken thoughts lying beside me,

I look into your eyes

which have, after a long night, become heavy and red

You count up to three

And, as always, a piece of you flies into me

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.