Poets logo

Birthday Cake

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Were you to look beneath the beard

Into relation ships I've steered

Straight to a last horizon grave

Of passiongers I couldn't save

Perhaps you'd sea this dark blue face

Reflects my grotesque happy place

Where I do my deepest sinking

Trenched in Marianas thinking

Ever tied to lament blocks

From crashing on existence rocks

The anchors of my ego's gold

That monstrous me creatures hath sold

Charybdis maelstrom consciousness

Leviathans of meaningless

Release the kraken to reveal

The siren songs she made me feel

My sails surrendered to her kiss

But plundered too much black abyss

A pirate's life of rum and coke

Not worth its weight in cannon smoke

Left me adriftwood wandering

The lonely shorelines pondering

Why does the faithful sun still rise

Aware that it just sets and dies

Surely there must be some dry lands

With castles of the whitest sands

Such constructs will essentially

Just wash away eventually

Remembered not by some divine

Forgotten in the wake of time

No marks I've made can drown out death

No words I write return the breath

That Aphrodite set in foam

And then shipwrecking me to roam

My cargo hold of loveless cells

To piece back broken-hearted shells

Consider this next time you ask

What lies submerged beneath this mask

A dead man's chest that finds its peace

In nothing but when all things cease

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.