Poets logo

Bird in a Cage

A new chapter begins... (no more pencils)

By SalAmaNdeRPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
Chapter Two

Bird in a Cage

I still recall the day

When I saw a face

A face I will always remember

I was rather shocked and surprised

To see your eyes

Light up with joy, I wondered...

Wondered if maybe there was a possibility

That something special lied beneath the surface

I needed to know. I needed to see.

I couldn't have been more sure of this

But how can I change

what's always been the same

Always around... but never close

One step at a time

As I try to hide

This powerful feeling that grows

Yet all the while

I can't shake my smile

But really... I never wanted to

You make me happy

All warm and fuzzy

Butterflies so familiar, yet new.

And I know it's just me

Still this uncertainty

Lingers in the air like smoke.

But I don't want to think

And so I wink

And lighten it up with a joke.

So I try to change

What's always been the same.

A little more "around", a little more "close"

One step at a time

I don't want to hide

This powerful feeling that grows

But try as I might

I can't feel your light

Like it's always just out of reach

I know that it's there

And I know that you care

But there's still a huge wall to be breached

And I can tell

That all this overwhelms you...

Like the weight of the world is crushing

You could try to think fast

But the answers won't last

The secret, is to simply stop rushing

But as things stay the same

I want to see a change

You're always around

And I want you close

As these steps subside

I feel frozen in time...

My desires have nowhere to grow

Still I keep my distance

Maintain my resistance

As I suppress the urge to give in

I wish you knew

How much I wanted to...

But these are the choices I'm given

To move forward or now

TO get what I want

Or leave it all behind

Because I know better

My feet on the ground

Help me look all around

And I see the bigger picture.

If I force the change

It won't be the same

You'll be less "around"

You'll be less "close"

If I stop trying

And wait for the right timing

The Orchid inside will grow.

And as a flower needs a bee

I need you to need me

I'll understand if you don't reciprocate

But the words you spoke that day

Left an empty space

You said this was too much to take

The news hit hard

Like a crystal turned to shards

Completely numbed by disbelief.

Not quite a yes or a no

Didn't want my sadness to show

A single tear... runs down my left cheek

Things remain the same

They will not change

I'll be less around

You'll be less close

No more steps

I'm a fucking mess

A void in my heart now grows.

What sucks about this

Is the emptiness

Hollowed by missing answers

Where could this go

I still want to know

But for now... that's not what matters

Beyond lies a road

That we must walk alone

Shouldn't make promises we can't keep

Words could be said

Of the future ahead

But ultimately, we must take a leap...

Of Faith...

Whether our feeling change

Or remain the same

I won't always be around

But close you shall be...

Held in my Heart.

A Friend from the start.

A Bird in a Cage, set FREE

Prose
Like

About the Creator

SalAmaNdeR

Hello : ,

I'm just hoping to find a place to share my thoughts and feelings... Even the darker ones...

Maybe even get some feedback/constructive criticism.

It'd also be pretty awesome if I was able to reach a few people.

I'd like that : ,

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.