Poets logo

Bipolar Disorder

A Poem about Living with Bipolar Disorder

By Rene PetersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
16
What does bipolar disorder feel like?

What bipolar means to me,

It's not at all easy, you will see.

Mania's more violent than you'll ever know.

It makes me feel as though I can glow.

I feel as though I am on top of the world,

The grandiosity makes me feel secured.

I want to fly,

So I go to try.

Someone sees me standing there,

As they walk in the cool autumn air.

They call the cops,

As I begin to flop.

I wake up in the hospital,

Not realizing I was so brittle.

It feels as though depression's hitting.

I look and see my arm was bitten.

Although I am not homicidal,

I have become ultra suicidal.

I want to hurt myself,

But the nurses stop me for my health.

After weeks of cycling, I'm back to baseline.

This makes me not feel defined.

sad poetry
16

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Well done Rene. Im glad you're putting this into words.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.