Poets logo

Billions of Possibilities

...but only one is 'good enough'

By Kristen SladePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
(Photo from Adobe Stock)

The world is the judge, and I am on trial

Faking it through, praying for survival.

Have they caught me? Can they see?

Because I am not what they think I should be.

Big where I should be small,

Small where they demand more,

Too weak in places I should be strong,

Far behind in the 'getting even' score.

There’s no real place for me;

I’m just the wrong design.

A quarter trying to slide into

A slot meant for a dime.

I see the mold I need to fit

They tell me how to get to it

I soak it up, I take it in

Can’t be stuck in my own skin.

Rip, remove, contort, cut,

Shave, reshape, cover, bleed-

Until all that’s left is

Scars, a shadow, and the memory of “me”.

Still don’t fit,

Must be flawed

Innately, irrevocably,

Designed wrong.

Billions of combos possible:

Shape, size, color, temperament,

How many are acceptable?

Only one, and I just can’t.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kristen Slade

Hey all! I am a graduate from BYU in Provo with a masters in PE. I have a passion for the outdoors, physical activity, sports, and health, but I also love writing! I love my parents and all eleven of my siblings!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    This is great! Very well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.