Poets logo

Big Fat Lie

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Viktor Talashuk on Unsplash

They sold the lies for a nickel.

They sold the lies for a dime.

Ever asking why?

Begging me to conceal,

Yet, I never understood the reason.

That was the effect of being bullied,

Everything happened simultaneously, just as planned.

As if I had no right to exist,

Born out of the creation of two monsters at the same time.

Created and abused because I wasn't flawless,

My imperfections mirrored their shattered aspirations.

Thus, they taunted me relentlessly

For as long as I allowed their claws to grip my shoulders.

No more! Leave me alone!

Perhaps I may be penniless, but at least I can still gaze

Into a mirror and confidently affirm,

“That's me. Every bit is genuine.”

I refuse to hide behind anyone's back.

I don't need to lie in order to get by.

I approach each day one step at a time.

I may face struggles and setbacks,

But I refuse to accept that this is how the story ends.

It simply cannot be.

Should we allow liars, cheaters, and falsifiers?

To roam this world without facing consequences?

And as tears stream down my face,

I must acknowledge a moment of surrender?

But defeat shall not prevail

As long as my heart continues to pulse within me,

As long as my hand can grasp this pen,

Ready to etch words on the waiting paper,

Forever tucked safely in the confines of my pocket.

So, as they become aware and feel deep shame,

For their insidious plots undermining me wherever they went,

In every nook and cranny of their tiny universe.

The big world requires the truth,

Not wily lies that provoke surprise.

No matter how harsh it may sound,

They ought to be evaluated, not me.

Narcissistic liars should rightfully languish in hell,

As it is the most fitting place for them.

We must execute capital punishment to ensure that in this world,

The worth of a soul

Is no less esteemed than that of a body.

Remember this crucial point the next time you feel inclined to slander someone.

~~~

Thank you for reading!

Mental Healthsurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.