Poets logo

Beyond Words

Beyond Belief

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
8
Beyond Words
Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

This is written for the VSS/Eric Anderson unintended fiction challenge.

the promise was given

from the moment breath escaped my lungs

beyond the depths of my knowing

entangled with destiny

the promise withstands

into the unknown of the human spirit

past the beats of the heart

and the containment of skin

enveloped by forever

escaping all fear

the promise endures

through the temporary

through the turmoil

through the heartache

long after, I am able to keep it

the promise remains

beyond explanation

where reason has no form

and words are mere vibration

echoing through the nature of who I am

the promise prevails

the promise proves it is much more than emotion

the promise is life and BEYOND

love poems
8

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    This was incredibly beautiful! I loved the photo you chose as well!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I'm way behind on social media right now and haven't seen the challenge, but if it inspired this, I'll have to try to catch up soon. Beautiful.

  • Mark Graham9 months ago

    We should all try to make and keep our promises that we make. Just maybe life will be better in keeping these promises we make. Maybe I read more into this poem.

  • The heart, mind & soul, they do abide, no matter the trauma they must endure. (Until they don't, of course.) Powerfully positive & hopeful, my friend.

  • I like this piece and Thanks for sharing the great song❤️💯👍Added to my playlist 🎶🎼🎧

  • Atomic Historian9 months ago

    Beautiful!! You really captured the emotion in the picture

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.