Poets logo

Beyond Imagination

an unknown time

By Cathy holmesPublished 30 days ago 1 min read
Photo by James Lee/ Unsplash

No compass for my destination,

I find no peace in the stars.

Navigating clouds in isolation,

where horizons mark my scars.

The unknown time beyond my dusk,

my reckoning proclaims.

My ancient bones, in fossil husk,

since my world went down in flames.

*

Through vast millennia, there I lay,

from when my history turned.

My lost self buried since that day,

in the place my carcass burned.

With carving tools, you come to unwrap.

my grave, your makeshift canvas.

To wake the past, to bridge the gap,

of eras that lay between us.

*

Both proud and fierce, now I stand.

majestic for all to see.

The mighty beast who ruled the lands

of ancient history.

My reconstructed bones you place,

for science and education

While my spirit rests in that long-lost space

beyond imagination.

performance poetrynature poetry

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (22)

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    So glad you wrote about the importance of finding their bones!

  • L.C. Schäfer18 days ago

    This one is a serious contender in the challenge 👍😁😁👍😁😁

  • I love the rhyme and rhythm of your dinosaur poem… I especially like these lines: ‘Both proud and fierce, now I stand. majestic for all to see The mighty beast who ruled the lands of ancient history. My reconstructed bones you place, for science and education While my spirit rests in that long-lost space beyond imagination.’💜

  • Dana Crandell27 days ago

    This is absolutely beautifully written, my friend! A brilliant entry!

  • Ameer Bibi29 days ago

    Stunning piece of poetry Good luck to you😇

  • Another excellent piece

  • Hate the nice work, if you don’t think it’s outstanding take your insights and go home. Great poem Cathy!

  • Fixed the 'Nice work'...seriously? Loved this - had an air of Ozymandias about it. Gorgeous imagary as always 🤍 C x

  • Not me thinking of the ghosts of dinosaurs haunting us after reading this, lol. Loved your poem!

  • This would be a top story one day!

  • Heather Zieffle 29 days ago

    This made me teary, Cathy! Fantastic poem and great entry to the challenge.

  • Lamar Wiggins29 days ago

    Nice entry, Cathy! I especially loved the last stanza.

  • Babs Iverson29 days ago

    Awesome!!! The rhyming and flow are magnificent!!!❤️❤️💕

  • JBaz30 days ago

    Cathy, while many of your others had humor ( and they are funny) I truly appreciate the work you did on this piece. The flow, the information and the feel work so well together. I wish you the best of luck on the challenge especially with this wonderful poem

  • Caroline Craven30 days ago

    Love this Cathy - really love the line 'I find no peace in the stars' Great entry and good luck.

  • The imagery you've woven throughout your poem is stunning, painting a vivid picture of fantastical landscapes and boundless horizons. Your words dance across the page, sparking the imagination and igniting a sense of awe and wonder. Moreover, "Beyond Imagination" resonated with me on a deeper level, serving as a reminder of the limitless potential of the human spirit. Your poem celebrates the power of creativity and the magic of dreaming big, encouraging readers to embrace their imagination and pursue their passions.

  • Marie Wilson30 days ago

    Love this! Very impressed with your entry; good luck, my TO neighbour!

  • Novel Allen30 days ago

    Lovely nostalgic glance down the annals of prehistoric times. Great read.

  • Caroline Jane30 days ago

    Great stuff!! Grinning away here. Fab entry. 🥰

  • Such a great entry. Flows perfectly

  • John Cox30 days ago

    This is an absolutely magnificent evocation of a lost age and the monsters who once ruled it, Cathy. Wonderful challenge entry!

Cathy holmesWritten by Cathy holmes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.