Poets logo

Beware The Earworm

Don't Stop Believin' I Can't Get You Out of My Head for a Bad Romance and Bohemian Rhapsody!

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
10
Created in NightCafe, Edited in CanvaPro

Don't mind me, I'm just the earworm

Setting up home inside your eardrum

Infecting you with a catchy song

Don't worry, though, it won't be long

Until everyone is stuck just the same

Until everyone is saying my name

*

Don't mind me, I'm just the earworm

Making you tap your toes and hum

The only remedy is to pass me on

Replace me, though, and I'll be gone

Until a new earworm comes along

Until a new earworm comes on strong

*

Infiltrating into your auditory cortex

The vicious loop like a violent vortex

A cognitive itch, ironic process theory

Repetitively replaying until your weary

Don't mind me, I'm just the earworm

Setting up home inside your eardrum

*

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this, please click the heart, leave a comment, or better yet, do both! You can also subscribe if you like.

Below are a few more pieces you may also enjoy:

You can also check out the rest of my work here,

social commentarysurreal poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalfact or fiction
10

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Loved this sooooo much!! Spot on with the rhythm and the rhyming!! Really fabulous writing and the content is oh so true. We try to get ear worms in each other's heads in my house, lol. Really great work on this one!!

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    Funny and spot on! 💕🙂

  • Furkan Ceylanabout a year ago

    Amazing!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Lighthearted and catchy... This was a fun way to end my evening!!!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I loved this! And I was just talking to Heather about earworms 😅 I’d actually never heard that term before!

  • Oh I have many earworms in my ears at the same time. It's like having multiples tabs open which are playing differently songs at the same time. Sometimes, these earworms even create their own remixes for me. Lol!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Enjoyed this!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderful. Now I "Can Get It Out of my head"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.