Poets logo

Beware of Foxes

A full moon, a strange dream, a true crime

By PK ColleranPublished about a year ago 1 min read
14
Beware of Foxes
Photo by Lasse Nystedt on Unsplash

Night.

Moon light.

The sound of padded paws

On soft pale grass.

A skulk of foxes

Wagging their tails

Like friendly puppies

Coming out from the brush.

Could they be

Tame?

They are not smiling

They are merely

Showing their teeth.

There was a certain look

In their eyes

A gleam

Reminding me of someone

Somewhere.

I felt a shudder

Not knowing if to hide

Or run.

These are not

Neighborhood dogs,

I thought.

Definitely

Not domesticated.

Yet one of them

Put his paws on my shoulders

and licked my face.

They are not smiling

They are merely

Showing their teeth.

The gentle rabbi

Told me:

They represent people.

People!

Then I knew:

I had seen them in the office.

Beware of foxes

And those who believe

They are tame.

My doubts and suspicions

Proved true:

Power, money, prestige.

They stopped at nothing

To get what

They wanted.

Beware of foxes

And those who believe

They are tame.

I never planned to be

A whistleblower

The tarot cards dropped in my lap

And whistle loud and long

Was all I could do.

By Viva Luna Studios on Unsplash

Investigations followed

Commissions

Testimonies and

Forced resignations.

How could it be?

The young ones asked.

We are nonprofit!

So many disheartened

Sad and disillusioned.

Doubtful if repairs

Can ever be

Made.

Beware of foxes

And those who believe

They are tame.

I honor the knights who came

Riding on white horses

Of truth.

Defenders of justice.

By Mehmet Uzut on Unsplash

They ride now

And forevermore

Into the dark night

Protecting those who journey

Singing softly in the shadows

Beware of foxes

And those who believe

They are tame.

social commentary
14

About the Creator

PK Colleran

I love words and their power to enrich our lives.

Editor of bilingual poetry collection Landscape of the Soul by Hipólito Sánchez, published by Cafh Foundation.

Translator of Living Consciously and Words Matter, by Jorge Waxemberg.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    "They are not smiling They are merely Showing their teeth" This is such a powerful statement. Smiles are powerful and though they are mainly used to do good, there is always someone who will use that power to manipulate. Well done!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Omg I can so relate to this poem right now within the workplace and I work for a non profit too. Well done!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely done. Very good piece and a good lesson also.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.