Poets logo

Between the Cover

Celebrating everyday stories

By Natalie StoverPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Cheers to life in between!

Barely awake, I stumble out of bed.

Eagerly, a little girl anticipates…

The first meal of the day.

Want to make breakfast mommy?”

Eyes widening, she suggests—

Eggs. “You make the bacon, I’ll cook the eggs!”

Next thing I know, I’m being dragged to the kitchen

To hear her shrieks of excitement as I crack the shell.

Her joyous cheers over stirring eggs

Enlivens even me to embrace the everyday.

Little things between the milestones of remarkable.

Impressions she’s left on me strike powerfully, leaving

Noteworthy notions on life and…

Eggs.

She eats, and I observe every expression prudently.

Before bed,

Every evening he comes

To snuggle and tell me he loves me more than

Worms love to wiggle.

Evoked I respond, “I love you more than

Eagles love to fly!”

Naturally this goes on til I surrender

To his defeat and contagious smile.

His love, so thick it’s tangible,

Envelopes me

Leaving me full for the

Evening.

The good night kisses,

The little feet tucked under me,

Encapsulate life’s little things;

Rendering me thankful and

Sentimentally hanging on to these moments.

Begging for independence

Every chance he can get

Teaches me to seize the days

When he still wants to

Exist in the previous

Era.

Nine is the new twenty.

Though his autonomy is

Helpful, it has me

Eagerly searching for more time. Time to be

Present,

Attune,

Grateful,

Earnest, and

Sincere.

They are mine now.

He is one step closer to putting the key in the

Ignition, the other…

Steps on the gas and is accelerating.

I’m watching everything

Speed up.

Miles come and go,

You’re all moving too fast.

Can I

Apply the brakes?

Decelerate?

Enjoy

Now?

Cause in between the

Exits…is beautiful scenery!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Natalie Stover

I’m a mother of 5, wife and teacher. I love creating conversations with words. I believe words are powerful things that can inspire action. If you can’t “do”, you can still create action with your words!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.