Poets logo

Better You Haunt Me Than Make Me Forget You (Memories)

A Memory Of Love

By Muhammad JunaidPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
Like
Better You Haunt Me Than Make Me Forget You (Memories)

I don’t remember a day in my life when I didn’t know you existed

What I do remember is your pure soul and your kind eyes and your loud laugh

How you used to be so hearty and energetic, just as a kid should be.

I remember your curly hair as a baby, how I used to love to hold you,

How I used to make fun of the way you spoke, but now I want just one more word from your

mouth to come out, because I yearn for you to stay.

Better death than a miserable life I know but you were nine for god’s sake.

A kid like you, you deserved to grow up and travel, and discover yourself,

You deserved to look at pictures of yourself from today,

You deserved to live more than some years or a few thousand days.

I remember promising you that when you grow up, I’ll tell you all the stories about your

childhood I’d remember.

I remember you were three or four and you said ‘I love you’ to my best friend and we all

laughed

I remember walking in on you in the bathroom

I remember your one birthday, when we all ate those little pizza boxes together,

I remember when last year you came to my apartment and we went to the park together.

Better You Haunt Me Than Make Me Forget You (Memories)

I remember you lying on the exercise machine and pretending to swim,

I remember holding you, and how you were almost named Jatin.

I remember how your birthday is the first of May, and how you and your sister had a cake

with both your faces on it

I remember that it’s also the international worker’s day,

And I remember thinking about how deep your voice would get, how that was supposed to

be a few Mays away.

I remember helping you with your homework, and how I’d teach you to write alphabets with

your sister,

I remember how lazy you were, and how much you’d shout when I wanted to pick you up.

There's a place for your soul in my teddy bear and a name I could use for him,

So if you ever wish to haunt someone, my mind will always have space, and my heart,

always love.

My childhood, always entangled with yours, and my adulthood, always missing a piece you

were supposed to fill.

I don't wanna say goodbye yet, so better you haunt me than make me forget you

Because you were so young and it was too early.

You were born before your time, but god didn't have to punish you or us by taking you away

before your time too.

But I know one thing, it's that you’ll always live in the memories of us, and you’ll always have

love, and that I’ll miss you in times I know I am supposed to be with you.

You are loved, and grieved, but never forgotten.

surreal poetryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemshow toheartbreakfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Muhammad Junaid

Poetry, short stories, little thoughts, memories, and a lot of things. Thanks for reading my work and please Subscribe for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.