Poets logo

Better sleep

A reflective styled poem

By Chynia NortonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Better sleep
Photo by Caique Silva on Unsplash

My bedroom has been my favorite space since I can remember.

I’ve spent hours in my room traveling through universes and creating just as many.

In my youth my room was the only space fully mine and big enough to hold all that I created, yet as I got older I was called away from this space.

It’s meant to soothe you to sleep but it does so much more for me.

So this year I made a resolution to go back to bed just not in the way you may think, but to allow my mattress to not only lull me to sleep but be the genesis point of my wealth creation. You can’t give from your empty cup so I start with me.

I’ve resolved to sleep when it is dark. Allowing my body optimal rest and recovery dreaming dreams of my life multiplying luxury and legendary love.

My support being the frame as I start to create new worlds again.

My creativity blooming like bedside flowers in spring.

Acrylic flowers painted vivid enough to illuminate the dark crevices of my mind.

Flower scented incense fills the room as I meditate.

Traveling over distant lands and to new universes with my son through bedtime stories, holding them loosely for he is meant to grow beyond the imaginings planted.

Life is just a collections of stories told over and over.

My bed is where my family tree’s roots grew deeper as the the next generation comes forth and where I have indulged in many forms of pleasure.

Like laughs with my beloved, bellies, cheeks, and throats sore.

Yes laughing is what I want to do more.

More tears too for they fill my well with the water of joy for they are closely related.

Not just tears of sadness but the overflow of all my emotions felt.

Leaking a life full of fulfillment.

I love it here safe and warm in my bed.

The reflection

Which is also why my New Years resolution is also to get out of bed.

To spend even more hours carried away by the wealth I’ve created becoming generational.

My room once large enough to hold all of me and my creations now overflowing into the world. There was always meant to be so much more…

more life…

more love…

Which is why my resolution to get out of bed is also the conclusion of a mediocre life by leaving my room and exploring the world with my family.

Showing up in all my brilliance since I slept when it was dark resting under burning stars and changing constellations.

Allowing myself to be supported by people now. Meeting new and familiar faces from the universes I’ve only read about in bedtime stories shared with my son.

Creativity springing forth beyond my bedside table to rolling fields of varied vegetation I’ve planted.

My life is full of stories ripe and ready to be shared, eaten.

My universe has never been so full.

My feet digging deep into the earth like roots of a tree. My own family tree expanded budding beautiful blooms.

Birthing is a pleasure.

I’ve shared more laughs with my beloved bellies, cheeks, and throats sore.

My well overflows with the many tears I’ve cried.

Feelings felt…

Life full-filled…

I am safe in the world, warmed by my knowing.

That before I resolve again that I need to go to bed and start all over again, for eventually my aging will call me right back to the space meant to support my body as I am lulled to sleep.

I love it here in this world I’ve created.

I am safe.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Chynia Norton

I am a woman, wife, mother, and writer through and through.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.