Poets logo

BETRAYAL

“It was a mistake," you said. But the cruel thing was, it felt like the mistake was mine, for trusting you.” ― David Levithan, The Lover's Dictionary

By Sherrie D. LarchPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I have to leave

I have to go

Away from this lonely place

I cannot stay

In this space

With our love’s memory

The one you said you loved

You betrayed

You broke my heart

Like shattered glass

Destroying my deep faith

That love can ever last

Who was this stranger?

Who was he?

The one you chose

Instead of me

Does he give you the love we had?

Does he give you what you need?

I have to leave

I have to go

To the world beyond this loss

Far away from you and him

Reminders of what could have been

What your betrayal has cost

Our future that will never be

A love forever lost

You broke my trust in love

For simple lust

Who was this stranger?

Who was he?

The one you chose

Instead of me

You gave away true love for him

Does he give you the love we had?

Does he give you what you need?

In this betrayal you call love

In this betrayal you call love

Betrayal is like the destruction of someone's heart, it hits deep, not easy to get over or forget and makes the victim weary of future love and the ability to trust.

heartbreaklove poems
Like

About the Creator

Sherrie D. Larch

I am a writer, blogger, photographer, painter (art), digital abstract artist, designer, in-home caregiver, Youtuber...living in Northern California.

Follow Me:

https://www.facebook.com/sdlarchart

https://www.facebook.com/sdlarchphotography

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.