Poets logo

Betrayal

A story where I was thrown away as if I was garbage

By NaniPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

You welcomed me

With your embracing arms.

And I was grateful

That god let you in my life.

I was an open book,

So hopeful to share

My vulnerability to you.

To show you my scars,

my deepest secrets,

even my darkest dreams.

Not a thing in this world,

No one could ever break us.

Or was it just me who felt the power we had?

Did it mean more to me than it did to you?

Because as days go by,

Your heart slowly fills,

It fills until it is no longer hollow,

Until you no longer need me.

You leave me here

All alone

In the dark.

You shattered me,

Leaving me incapable of

Piecing myself back together.

I was once a human being,

Now just an empty vase

That you broke ever so recklessly.

You abandoned me for another.

No rhyme or reason.

I wonder,

Was it because she was more beautiful?

More interesting?

Or was it because she was not

As broken as me?

I wonder,

Whether you cherished me

As much as I cherished you.

Would you have killed for me

As I would have done for you?

How easily you decide to end our story,

A story so painful to bear yet so good

I didn't have the heart to leave

But you threw away so easily

Like it was spoiled milk.

I will not stay angry at you, no.

I only wish for one thing.

Don't you dare come

Crawling back to me

When she has left you all alone

In the dark

Like you so easily did to me.

-Nani

love poemssad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Nani

Just a girl who likes writing and hopes others like to read her stories and crave for more <3.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.