Poets logo

Bestseller

A Letter to the Author

By Sara WynnPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Bestseller
Photo by Cederic Vandenberghe on Unsplash

You never knew me,

and you never will.

You never saw me,

never, not until

it was past too late,

no longer fresh kill,

too much time and space

with no hunt, no thrill.

-

Reduced to once was,

in history, shelved,

leather-bound by dust

in the fiction realm.

Yes, we're strangers now,

but we always were--

author, take your bow

for literature.

-

Just a fairy tale,

none of it was real;

just a scary tale,

characters revealed.

And what a plot twist,

where dystopia

was born from perfect,

from euphoria.

-

Reduced to once was,

we're history, shelved,

leather-bound by dust

in the history realm.

We're history now,

but we always were--

author, take your bow

for literature.

-

What a great story,

this one you've made up;

such allegory

in murderous love.

My name on your spine

inscripted in gold,

beautifully inscribed:

half-truths, so I'm told.

-

You never knew me,

and you never will.

I am the story,

and I am the thrill.

It is past too late,

the hour hand is still;

you can change your fate

when new ink is spilled.

love poemssurreal poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sara Wynn

Poetry is my language, and Earth is my playground.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.