Poets logo

Best Friends

The risk of love is loss

By MorganPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
Best Friends
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

“Me? Well, of course, I don’t LIKE YOU like you,

I mean, we're friends, remember?”

We both knew I wasn't being true,

I remember, it was one cold September.

I thought that's what you wanted to hear,

I recall you chatting with your peers.

I didn't want to seem too near,

So I lied, and we both held our own fears.

All I wanted was for you to notice me,

But I was never the popular or the pretty.

All I craved was for you to see,

But I felt embarrassed for wanting something that seemed so petty.

I felt ashamed for harboring feelings for you,

Isn't that absurd?

So, I acted like our bond was just another hue,

Emotions hidden, lines between us blurred.

The truth is I didn't want to lose you,

The risk of love is loss,

And in moments shared, our friendship grew,

Facing life's dance, we pay the cost.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Morgan

Hi, I'm Morgan, a writer by heart with a passion for crafting innovative stories. Follow me for updates on my latest projects and achievements!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ha Le Sa2 months ago

    Fantastic piece! Good job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.