Poets logo

Beside Me

Growing in Tandem

By Hailey Marchand-NazzaroPublished 2 months ago Updated 30 days ago 2 min read
5
Beside Me
Photo by Gary Fultz on Unsplash

You get up every day

despite all the pain

And you face the day unapologetically.

You handle what comes your way

With determination on your face

And a work ethic rivaled by no one.

The day you came into my life

I knew I'd always have someone on my side

Know that I'm by yours too

Sis, I always got you.

I got you and you got me

We work toward our harmony

I got your back and you have mine

Together, we know we will be fine.

I got you and I'm so thankful

I couldn't possibly be more grateful.

When I'm down on myself,

You give me the hope to keep going.

You remind me I'm someone worth knowing.

And that the seeds of doubt they planted

Aren't worth sowing.

Your life hasn't been a stroll through a meadow,

More like an obstacle course where they play heavy metal.

But the muscles you've developed along the way,

They serve you well each and every day.

Your strength as you face and walk through the fire,

Is something which I have always admired.

You inspire me just the way that you are,

By being yourself, I believe you're a star.

I hope you know you're a star,

I love you just as you are.

You inspire me daily

I respect you greatly.

Don't ever change at your core.

You're the one that I needed

Your struggles are fleeting

And they will always strengthen you more.

Your life hasn't been a stroll through a meadow,

More like an obstacle course where they play heavy metal.

But the muscles you've developed along the way,

May serve you well some day.

Your strength as you face and walk through the fire,

Is something which I will always admire.

I hope you know you're a star,

I love you just as you are.

Song Lyricslove poems
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about a month ago

    My best friend is my soul-sister; we met when I was a troubled teen and she was several years older. I honestly do not know how I could face this life without her I am a new subscriber and absolutely a fan of your writing now. I see I have lots to read!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    What a wonderful poem about sister love. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.