Poets logo

Beloved Drawings

A poem about television animation

By David PerlmutterPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
26
Beloved Drawings
Photo by Ajeet Mestry on Unsplash

Images

Flashing by at a speed unimaginable, one after another

Little drawings, one only slightly different from the one before

Individually, not meaning much

But collectively, creating stories and beings that last forever.

Heroes and villains

Comedians and their foils

Lovely young ladies and gallant young men

Humans, animals, insects and items otherwise not alive

In forms and figures unknown to the world I inhabit

Doing things and going places

I cannot do and never will go

I feel admiration, joy, engagement, even lust

But, above all, I feel safe in their embrace

More than with some of my own kind

If I lived in their worlds

And shared in their adventures

My life would never know boredom

And the worst kinds of pain

Could easily vanish into thin air in a second

But as I cannot be one of them

I can, at least, appreciate them for who they are

And what they do

And hope I can convince others to feel the same

Also available on Medium: https://dkperlmutter.medium.com/beloved-drawings-e533149d7962

love poems
26

About the Creator

David Perlmutter

David Perlmutter is a freelance writer based in Winnipeg, Canada. He has published two books on the history of animation in North America and many pieces of speculative fiction.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.