Poets logo

Belonging

Autism Doesn't Speak, It's Lonely and Writing Here.

By Tommy BallardPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3
Belonging
Photo by Rob Tol on Unsplash

Belonging

Belonging never came to me like it seemed to for others.

I remember in my earliest years how I would watch them interact without burden or bother.

To observe the ease with which to them was nature, made me feel like something else, a creature?

I'd look upon their friendly gestures and covet them

I'd hear the flowing conversations and study them.

Over a lifetime I found my way through, I began to resemble them. I could blend in whenever I really tried, and over time it became less exhausting.

Perhaps it's the abundance of choice they have that makes people so deserting.

No matter how much you give, everyone seems to leave in the end.

If I wasn't going to be able to socialize easily, I wish I could been wise before time

Once everybody's gone and I hear no more from those that were my closest

I find myself with my heart all tore, and though it's blue and cold, it's roasted.

social commentarysad poetry
3

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    No matter how much you give, everyone seems to leave in the end. That line is the ultimate sad truth. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.