Poets logo

being the one to make the first move.

(poem)

By Huan Huan Published 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
being the one to make the first move.
Photo by Saiph Muhammad on Unsplash

i’m looking at you all disappointed-like

because why didn’t you take the hint when i

reached my hand out across the table

and left it half a centimeter from yours

the meat of both my palms lying face up like

i was obviously beckoning for something

i wanted you to take the hint.

holding hands

but then you leaned back and crossed your arms

and i knew i had lost the chance

to grab your hands

it would have been nice if you had

just took the hint.

… but you didn’t and i wish you could read my mind sometimes

or take some risks sometimes

or reach harder for what you want

if you really wanted it

sometimes

###

i realize this is only a reflection of what i wish

i myself am capable of doing

capable of not wishing at 11:11 or being lucky

and nevertheless being able to hold your hand

i hate letting myself down

and i tried to convince myself that i hadn’t because

you were supposed to do it

but then i remember when i fancied myself as a

woman who would jumps to the gun first

i want to be the one who takes the initiative

that’s how i want to be (am right now…)

i’ll let me be it (make sure to look forward to it)

~

If you enjoyed this, consider buying my full book of poetry here:

Or read another poem by me here on Vocal:

Hey! Thanks for reading, I greatly appreciate your support :) Make sure to leave a comment about your interpretation of my writing, a follow, and even a tip!

heartbreakStream of Consciousnesslove poemsFree VerseFor FunFirst Draft

About the Creator

Huan Huan

self published poet, daydreamer, romanticizer of life - instagram @hhc_author - check out my book here! ~ https://linktr.ee/italicstheworld/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    I loved this!

  • Cathy Deslippe5 months ago

    You truly write deep from the heart, felt your expressions in every word. You're a fantastic writer. Congratulations

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Suze Kay5 months ago

    I wish the kindle link worked but it doesn’t seem to at least on my iPhone! Gorgeous poem full of wants and wishes. Beautiful work, Huan Huan!

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    This is so bare. I like its freshness and its confession style.

  • Anna 5 months ago

    Beautiful poem!🥰

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Huan Huan, this was a very good poem!

Huan Huan Written by Huan Huan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.