Poets logo

Beginning

Before

By AdiPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Every moment plays out so differently in my head, every glance, every word, every touch is an embrace of lust. Every time I see him my heart races I’ve never been so nervous around someone I barely know, a stranger. When I feel his presence I can barely speak my stomach tightens and I can’t even look at his eyes. Ugh his eyes, his eyes sparkling so effortlessly as if they’re only meant to be seen by me. Me, another stranger he doesn’t know and never will? But why does it seem like he does? Although we’ve only exchanged no more then six words at a time why does it feel like he knows me, not like a friend like a lover. There is a calm awkwardness between us, an awkwardness that is almost peaceful. I can’t shake the feeling that I was meant to meet him, meant to see him, speak to him, know him. But then again I never did believe in fate? Or destiny? Did it even exist. Did things really happen by chance or did people really meet by ‘fate?’ I didn’t know if I was convinced but I knew that I was meant to look at him and he was meant to look at me—whatever that is I know it’s more then just a fantasy. Was what I was feeling even real? Did he even exist? I questioned whether my ‘memories’ were real or just the work of my imagination. I tried to convince myself that it was a reality and what we felt was true. And although we didn’t know it yet everything was about to change.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.