Poets logo

Before The Stitch Becomes A Scar

Still Raw

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Before The Stitch Becomes A Scar
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

Seamstress

Before The Stitch Becomes A Scar

By: Nicole DeFelice

Every night,

My own hands

Punch stitches through

My two tender lips,

As I carefully sew

Myself back up,

In my magic mirror.

I’ve heard them say

“Fine times rarely

Spoil in the mind,”

Well I’m —rotten

At just the thought

Of you, so I don’t try

To speak it.

Savoring how the words

Held inside taste

Upon my tongue, but

My eyes still twitch to

Reveal precious secrets,

I’ve been pouring

Out in silent glances.

How I’ve struggled to

Declare it, being lost

In my abyss, spending

So many hours of

Needlework over wounds

That bled and re-bled.

Even tiptoed around

The idea, and yet

The seamstress

Keeps on buying

More colors of thread.

The stitches never

Heal to scars,

I patch the holes I

Make instead.

Finding mischievous hands

Embroidering tonight, you

Inside my head.

-

-

If you find this piece interesting, please consider leaving a ❤️ below, or even a tip. Your support means everything to me as a writer! You can also read more of my stories & poems by clicking on my page! xo

heartbreaklove poemssad poetryperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.