Poets logo

Beauty

An old poem sitting unread on an old laptop

By Gloriana DemersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

They say I'm pretty but the mirror says otherwise

They say they love my sunset blonde hair and pale blue eyes

But when I look in the mirror, that's not who I recognize

All I see are fat thighs, pale skin,

And these ugly lies I choose to believe in

Why can't I just take their word for it?

Why can't I put the makeup down and give in?

Because through my eyes, I am too flawed;

My face too fat, my shoulders too broad

Do they really think I'm pretty or do they say it to be kind?

Or maybe they just say I am because “love is blind”

I don't look like the women in the magazines

And I don't look like the ones on the TV

But who's to say what is beautiful and not?

I've never truly given that thought

Who says I have to look a certain way?

Who says I have to count every calorie on my plate?

If beauty were one specific look or kind,

Then every man would be inclined

To choose the same type of woman for him

All looking the same, all very slim

There are all different sizes and shapes

It's the ugly lies that I must escape

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gloriana Demers

You can find my published children's book @

https://www.xlibris.com/en/bookstore/bookdetails/759614-the-way-we-play

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.