Poets logo

Beauty In The Deep

Familiar Ground

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 7 days ago Updated 7 days ago 1 min read

I still tread the ground where you once ravaged me

Still walk the paths where we met our demise

I still feel the scars that your carelessness left

My tongue still tastes the saltiness of the tears that I spent

I trudged through fields of doubt to regain self esteem

Dug through the memories, discarding things not for me

I found the peace I'd lost waiting by the willow tree

Flowing like droplets to a whirlpool of peace

But nothing’s as sweet as the first touch of sunlight

Nothing else reaches the depths of my soul

I never imagined I’d see the beauty in midnight

Never knew broken could make me feel whole

inspirationalslam poetrysad poetrynature poetryMental Healthlove poems

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • John Cox7 days ago

    Stunning poetry, Kelli. I felt the rage, the despair and the hope shining through it all.

  • ROCK 7 days ago

    I am certain many readers relate to this piece; it's about us all in some form. Well expressed and powerful.

  • Mark Graham7 days ago

    This could be a poem another author could place at the very beginning of their book. Right after the dedication page. Beautiful work.

  • Dylan 7 days ago

    This was amazing! Very deep and interesting!

  • shanmuga priya7 days ago

    The lines....But nothing’s as sweet as the first touch of sunlight...I liked it... mesmerizing read....🌊

  • Sweileh 8887 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.