Poets logo

Beauty Behind The Beast

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
5
Beauty Behind The Beast
Photo by Cyrus Crossan on Unsplash

I never knew I could be pretty.

Of course, the words of affirmation were nice, but often fleeting and baseless in subjectivity.

The mirror was never my friend from the reflection of previous "you're ugly's" and "you're a pig" being my reminders.

It took one look from someone else to be the catalyst to find my own beauty behind the beast that is my own demons.

They quiet enough for me to hear my own sweet melodies that remind me of how pretty I am.

The mirror no longer yells the wounds of the past at me, and instead, it shows me everything I've always been.

inspirationalGratitude
5

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    That' was quite interesting or wonderful

  • ROCK about a month ago

    This is beautiful ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.