Poets logo

Beat Beat Beat Tap Tap Tap

brave brave like Tracy

By T. LichtPublished 13 days ago 2 min read
1

My heart beats through my thick sweater.

Beat Beat Beat

Tap Tap Tap

I don’t want to feel it. That’s why I chose a thick sweater.

I were two watches on my wrist because I didn’t find a bangle or bracelet wide enough.

I don’t want to feel it.

That

Beat, Beat, Beat

Tap, tap, tap

So firm and sure that it belongs in there.

If I were brave enough, I would do what Tracy does, but I can’t for the weak life of mine look a blade in the eye, or for heaven’s sake graze it across my wrists. Mom makes fun that I can’t even cut vegetables because my hands shake so bad. If she’d know it saves me from so much trouble she wouldn’t mock me like that.

I look at the towering trees, straight at the crusty barks, shedding like old peels of paint. My room looks like that and if I’d cut my heart open, I’m sure it would look like that too.

A wind slaps through it. The tree reels in shock and its head nearly snaps off. A rush of withered leaves breaks off and collapses at me feet in a defeated heap.

The tree slowly rises back up, it’s head half shorn.

It reminds me of Tracy.

My shoulder blades tighten in the thick knitted sweater, hoping to eke out a little more warmth.

I’m crazy for being out in this weather.

I’m crazy. Period.

But what’s if the only thing that makes me forget

That

Beat Beat Beat

Tap, tap, tap

Is the hideous character of the winds through trees and rain through the streets?

And reminds me of Tracy.

Brave

Brave

Tracy.

Mental Healthsad poetry
1

About the Creator

T. Licht

I have a love for words and a love to share them.

Well then, enjoy and thank you for taking the time to read this and maybe if you want subscribe;)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake13 days ago

    Keep up the good work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.