Poets logo

Barbie & Ken

wasn't always the perfect couple.

By Andre The FirstPublished about a year ago 2 min read
5
Barbie and Ken from Toy Story 3

My life with you was perfect,

But you weren’t,

And I should’ve never expected you to be.

However, I was in love,

And my lust for you grew

When we stopped using the glove.

The definition of perfection always equaled you,

Only if you could see it from my point of view.

Oh, how your lies changed the image I had of you.

The idea of perfection instantly shattered before my eyes,

When I thought of all the times you lied.

My trust in you broke into a million pieces,

And now, my skepticism increases,

With every new word you whisper.

Checking behind every door before I enter.

How can I trust anything you say?

When you always tend to stray,

Away from me and into the arms of another.

I wouldn’t be surprised if you told me

You slept with my brother.

That was low,

And I’m sorry.

I just need the truth from you Barbie.

Who else did you cheat on me with?

And don’t try to convince me it was all a myth.

For when the truth comes out

And you don’t gaslight me,

I begin to feel less crazy.

Now that your truth is out,

You flip it back on me.

I could hear you now,

“You cheated too!”

But the difference is I told you the truth.

I took accountability for it

Whereas you never wanted to admit,

Your fuck ups,

And your cheating ways.

I don’t know how we lasted for three hundred and sixty-five days,

And no, I am not comparing our cheating

Because I don’t want us to feel like we’re competing,

Or for the cheating to keep repeating.

Sometimes I wish we could start over

Because nowadays, I feel defeated.

I want this relationship to work,

But let’s be honest,

The dynamics of our relationship need to be reworked.

No more pulling in and pulling out.

We need to be ten toes down,

This time around.

No more frolicking in town,

Just you and me.

No more slick comments

And making each other feel like projects.

Let’s work together harmoniously.

Walking in step with our hearts beating simultaneously.

We might be off-balanced,

But loving one another is our hidden talent.

It would be beneficial

To seek couple’s therapy

And give us a chance

By going back to dating.

Let’s live in the moment and focus on the present

To optimize our happiness

So we don’t rely on antidepressants.

Instead let’s trust the process

While rebuilding the trust we desperately lack.

I’m looking forward to us bouncing back,

With me choosing you and you choosing me.

Now is the time to prove to one another that we’re meant to be.

heartbreaklove poems
5

About the Creator

Andre The First

Beginning my writing journey and hoping to inspire others to follow their dreams!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.