Poets logo

Barbarians At The Gate

A poem

By Tony GalbierPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Barbarians At The Gate
Photo by petr sidorov on Unsplash

I sit on my throne

a kingdom of porcelain.

Alone with the hum

hands under chin

elbows on knees.

Always I fight 

in here alone

where the voices are quiet

away from the world.

Quiet

save for a drip

and a plop

peaceful quiet alone.

Birds chirp

through the mesh veil

breeze and sunshine

the only refresher.

Seconds slip on

minutes tick.

My legs become shadow

static and pinpricks.

Effervescents within.

Effervescents without.

My heart is a percolator

I sit and I brew

until my alone time

violated.

Shouting and slamming

"Hurry the hell up"

"Did you fall asleep in there?"

Oh but I could have

in this place of peace.

I'll pinch it short

save my game.

Take a breath

but not too deep.

I'll be back tomorrow

or maybe the day after.

I wait upon thee.

Until then

my Quiet Alone

Fin.

-A Poem About Takin' A Shit-

inspirationallove poemssocial commentarynature poetry
2

About the Creator

Tony Galbier

Spellbound, can't move, be back in a few.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    LOL! I did not see that coming! But this was an amazing poem. I loved it!

  • wow...that just seemed too hard, lol

  • Ruza Aldin2 years ago

    Careful, if you do that too often you can encourage infections and a loss of bladder control. Speaking from personal experience.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.