Poets logo

Barbarian

Things are never as they seem.

By Dani HPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

Left foot, right foot, step through it all.

He looks at me,

as if he can't see,

the pain that has tortured the good out of me.

They hug him,

love him,

as if they don't know,

the words that he said not so long ago.

Empty promises and empty debts,

empty hearts and empty threads.

secrets tossed,

trust is lost.

Knives are thrown,

that cut bare to bone.

The pain helps you forget,

the days that you have spent

crying, with this feeling of repent,

but even those too,

begin to lose

all their meaning towards you.

How dare you leave me,

lying on the floor

to face the great outdoors!

With no equipment to help,

even though I whelped.

Soon this will all be a dream

and nothing will be as it seemed.

I will begin,

left foot, right foot, step through it all

step through the pain that you have caused.

Through the shattered glass

and hurtful disguises

with the empty promises

that brought me such sadness.

I will begin,

left foot right foot

a step in a new direction

to forget the dungeon

in which I was held

as a barbarian.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Dani H

I love writing, I tend to write in my more depressing moments but to inspire those that there is always a light at the end of the tunnel. No matter how dark it seems. I wish to inspire people to keep living and their heads up.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.