Poets logo

Banana pancakes

Love is a Sunday morning

By AshPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Banana pancakes
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

love, at first sight, takes a lot of work, doesn't it?

love at first sight, isn't always "I saw you on the street and I knew you were the one"

love, at first sight, is I woke up this morning and you were the first thing I saw and I was content about that.

love, at first sight, is I looked at you and saw YOU before I saw all those mistakes that made me so angry I couldn't see love; I thought about love, not about our past mistakes, not our problems but our solutions.

love, at first sight, is.. familiar,

loyal,

understanding,

tough,

kind,

honest,

compromises,

full-time friendship.

love, at first sight, is I think about making banana pancakes with you on Sunday morning and I usually only think about making banana pancakes alone because I really want banana pancakes on a Sunday morning just like that song, but then you came along and I thought sharing a Sunday morning with banana pancakes sounded more than just okay.

Love at first sight... It's seeing you as love more than a way out, love, at first sight, comes after realizing you are more than just a safety net.

There is plenty of fish in the sea but I keep hoping I'll catch you; you are my blue elephant tuna.

love, at first sight, is exactly how Ponyo plays it out to be, I love you so much I would cross this flooded world just to help you even if I don't understand it, I will help you. I'll show you that if we are ever apart I promise I will find you no matter what it takes, no matter how far apart we are, no matter if we come from different worlds... I will find you and I will love you.

Love, at first sight, isn't recognized at first sight, I never realized I loved you through all those fights, misunderstandings, through this long journey until I woke up and realized I wasn't with you because I thought there was no way out but because love, at first sight, is refusing to take flight because it gets hard.

Love, at first sight, is the moment I realized... even when it was hard I never wanted to run away from you like I did everyone else.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ash

Hello there! I'm ashl I love writing poetry, the main source to express the inside onto the outside, or essays as a conversation between you and me in order to hear myself better at times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.