Poets logo

Balance?

How do you balance it all

By Kendrick BakerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Balance?
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

Life is a constant balancing act.

Constantly trying to figure out what is too gay.

Too black,

Too straight,

Too much,

Too little.

Getting exhausted on this little trapeze line.

Always threatening to snap

Under the weight.

Tiptoeing forward and running back

Others shine their spotlights on me.

Trying to label me,

Because they can’t stand the fact that I elude them.

Their lights blind me

Keeping me from finding what it is I am looking for,

On the other side.

Just out of reach,

And it kills me.

Because I feel like this is what will make me whole,

What will allow me to take a breath?

So I adopt a mask,

Bisexual today,

Stright tomorrow,

Gay the next day.

Keeping them off balance so I can regain mine.

I wear so many masks,

Somedays I don’t know who is looking back at me.

A stranger

running around,

In my body.

Why do I need a label,

Why do I need to worry about being anything,

It’s not for me,

It’s for others.

So they can be comfortable.

But what about me?

How can I be comfortable when I am not whole,

How can I be comfortable when I can’t breathe.

I don’t have those answers yet

So back up I go.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Kendrick Baker

Hello! I am an aspiring writer from Texas. Some of my favorite authors and influences are Neil Gaiman, and Rupi Kaur. I love the way that both authors entrance readers, and that is what I set out to do with my own writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.